the international music on the bus

When I stepped on to the bus this morning, I was welcomed by a very familiar song “Menunggu (Ai shiteru)”. I often hear this song on the bus, sung by street singers, but this time I heard the original recording (just googled the band name: Zivilia).

walau raga kita terpisah jauh
namun hati kita selalu dekat
bila kau rindu pejamkan matamu
dan rasakan a a a aku
kekuatan cinta kita takkan pernah rapuh
terhapus ruang dan waktu
percayakan kesetiaan ini
akan tulus a a ai aishiteru


(source)

After having a terrifying night and a busy morning, I got no more energy to even be impatient on my way to the office. Time at my wirts showing 8.30 am. That’s why I decided to just enjoy my 10-minutes journey on Kopaja 615 (Tanah Abang-Blok M-Lebak Bulus).

I took the last row on the driver side and put my heavy backpack next to me. The bus might not be pretty, but there’s only few passengers on the bus and it was a bright morning plus the music was playing loudly-but-within-tolerable-decibel, so…I thought it’d be nice to just sit and enjoy everything, forgetting the ticking of time.

The street heading towards Manggala was flowing well, but not on the other side of the street. the trafic jam made cars and other vehicles queuing before the red light. I thought I knew the feeling (well, all jakarta people did too)… seing the time kept running while you’re stuck exactly at the same point for minutes to minutes. Then suddenly a scooter sneaking, among cars. three young girls on it. they’re all the same type: clear and bright skin, smoothed hair, tight shirt…kind of common teenagers these day. The rearest girl loaded by a big hand bag, the middle one was the highest and the prettiest with her hair bangs were still rolled and the girl behind the handlebars looked amusingly focus on zigzaging among the rows of car. They couldn’t stop laughing. Maybe taking that vehicle was the least option for them this morning, so what they’re laughing about could be none other than themselves.

The playlist then changed into an old Japanese ballad: “Kokoro no Tomo.” At first I couldn’t believe what I was hearing that time…but then i was confirmed. It was it, the song. Since the bus was quite vacant, I could take a look at the driver. He seemed to be very familiar with the song…and he even made the “humming” voice toning the song! that’s almost a “wow” for me. And to my surprise, that song was played twice.

I took a time to look around the bus. even though all the passangers were calm and quite (they seemed to be drown deep in their own mind), I thought they also enjoyed the music. I mean…how often do you get this kind of “real” entertainment on a shabby Jakarta bus? The man in a black cap and shirt and a blue jeans on the next seat had a guitar with him. He just sit there relax folding his hands on his chest. He looked straight ahead. The girls in front of him seemed to have no idea about the song, but they didn’t give any comment. The men on the rearest seat looking at me back when I looked at them, so I quickly turned my head back to the front. Meanwhile, I had no idea how’s the facial expression of people sitting at the front. The bus stopped suddenly. A lady (around 40s) in an amazingly colorful shirt got on. Other than her annoying shirt, she looked fine. She had her hair rolled up high showing her long clear skinned back neck. She wore a pencil-style dark blue jeans and a pair of nice sandal. But her shirt just dropped them all for me. It’s a long sleeved and had so many colors and pattern on it. red and blue were the majority. the others were black, white, yellow, green…and I was too dizzy to recognize the rest.

“Kokoro no Tomo” song was reaching the end. I hoped the driver wouldn’t go for another round. And thankfully he didn’t. It was Mariah Carey’s song as I recognized the intro. Here we go..

No, I can’t forget this evening
Or your face as you were leaving
But I guess that’s just the way this story goes,
You always smile….
But in you eyes your sorrow shows
Yes it shows

No I can’t forget tomorrow
When I think of all my sorrows
When I had you there but then I let you go
And now it’s only fair that I should let you know
What you should know

I cant live
If living is without you
I can’t live
I can’t give anymore
Can’t live
If living is without you
can’t give,
I can’t give anymore

[source]

The most amusing thing of all, this time…the driver sang along with Mariah on every reffrain..wohoo. This driver was rock! He had a good taste on music. 😉

Leave a Reply

