A nice classic

Eventhough I’m basically a visual person, music somehow sooths me no matter how soft or loud it is. Just about few weeks ago, I watched a Korean tv show that made me fell in love with a particular Italian classic song: Nella Fantasia. I think this was quite a popular song sung by Sarah Brightman and Il Divo. I watched both version, but the Korean “Qualification of Men” show’s choir was my favourite, since it sounded lighter than the first two…

This song is obviously not the kind of song that i’d sing along. I don’t know Italian and classical music is just something beyond my poor alto voice. However, what made me fell in love with the song was the meaning beneath that foreign language…

Nella Fantasia means In My Mind

Nella fantasia io vedo un mondo giusto,
li tutti vivono in pace e in onesta.

lo sogno d’anime che sono sempre libere,
come le nuvole che volano,
pien’ d’umanita in fondo all’anima.

Nella fantasia io vedo un mondo chiaro,
li anche la notte e meno oscura.

lo sogno d’anime che sono sempre libere,
come le nuvole che volano,
pien’ d’umanita in fondo all’anima.

Nella fantasia esiste un vento caldo,
che soffia sulle citta, come amico.

lo sogno d’anime che sono sempre libere,
come le nuvole che volano,
pien’ d’umanita in fondo all’anima.

From all those words, I could only get three words: fantasia, tutti and libere. Fantasia must have something to do with fantasy…something mental, mind. Tutti… a friend told me once, very recently, that it means everyone. Libere must have something to do with liberty..freedom.

And there it goes the English translation. It really is a very nice song…

In my mind I imagine a world of justice,
where everyone lives peaceful and honest lives.

I dream of hearts that are always free,
free as the clouds in the sky,
full of a deep humanity.

In my mind I imagine a world of light,
where even the nights are not so dark.

I dream of hearts that are always free,
free as the clouds in the sky,
full of a deep humanity.

In my mind there’s a warm breeze that
breathes over the towns like a friend.

I dream of hearts that are always free,
free as the clouds in the sky,
full of a deep humanity.

[lyric and translation source]

Leave a Reply

