The departed child

The mosque announced the death of a little child before the sun even rised on the horizon. My mom and my sister held me from going back to sleep to make me go and give my condolense to our neighbor. I had heard the news last night from my nephew’s nanny.

The child is our neighbor’s, the grandson of my parents’ friends. He’s not yet ten. He’d been suffered from a kidney failure for years and his parents are in a not-very good economic situation.

The men from our neighborhood sat at the front of the house. The women embraced people coming at the front door. The father just stood there near the front window. The mourning grandmother still shed some tears on my mother’s shoulder. The mourning mother looked tired but never got herself off her son’s side. The little siblings were not around.

I saw the corps-carrier just on the alley. They’ve prepared flowers, a big tube of water, soap, shampoo and a bucket of flowered-water. They’re ready to bathe him.

I guess, without disregarding the mourning family, it is the best way for everyone. The departed child will go straight to heaven, will be suffering no more…have a happyly ever after life in the arms of the angels. And the family, if they sincerely let him go…they should sincerely let him go, will have a little less of life loads. It’s hard I know. I really do know. But trust me, God is full of Mercy.

The art of letting go of a long-ill child…should I say it this way?
This early morning funeral just like a dejavu. It’s been three years since my little niece passed away. I’ve been trying to forgive myself ever since that morning and i’ve been getting more confidence the past year…but the memories just suddenly come back and disturb the rest of my morning.

I need to go back to sleep.

My father decided not to go to work today.
I heard he’ll lead the departed-prayer for that kid.

Community is what it’s all about. It’s a union of some strangers who dwell in one area for a certain period of time and then become a big family. You share your joy, your sad moments, health or sick, in wealth or in need. They care. They give a damn care. And they’re always there in everykind of situation.

For some people having a community is a burdensome. I’m not a sociable person either. But my parents just never stop teaching their unsociable kids that community is in fact part of life that everyone needs. The city has corrupted the people in some way, but community…at least this community i’ve known literary my whole life, survives its soul.

The sunlight bursts in through my bedroom window and falls upon my face.

I feel warm.

I think I can go back to sleep now.

Leave a Reply

